Adam Smith Workshop


Adam Smith Workshop Spring 2023

20th and 21st April 2023

Saïd Business School, University of Oxford

Submission deadline: 21st November 2022

Call for Papers

You are invited to submit papers for the Adam Smith Workshop for Spring 2023. The workshop will take place over two days on Thursday 20th and Friday 21st April 2023. The workshop will be hosted by Saïd Business School, University of Oxford, Park End Street, Oxford, OX1 1HP. There will be a conference dinner on Thursday 20th April. At this time, we are planning for an in-person conference (with no online option unless the Covid situation changes drastically).

The workshop will consider papers in all areas of finance, including Asset Pricing, Behavioral Finance, Corporate Finance, Financial Intermediation, Household Finance, and International Finance.

As in previous years, papers will be presented in two parallel streams, one labeled Asset Pricing (AP) and the other Corporate Finance (CF). There will also be one joint session with papers that are of interest to researchers in both Asset Pricing and Corporate Finance.

Submission deadline and procedure:

  • The submission deadline is Monday 21st November 2022 (midnight GMT).

  • There is a submission fee of GBP 70.

  • When submitting your PDF, there is no need to remove author information from the cover page.

  • Your paper should be submitted at:

  • Depending on whether you wish your paper to be considered for the Asset Pricing or Corporate Finance stream, please name the PDF file as:

    • AP_LASTNAME_Firstname_TitleOfPaper.pdf

    • CF_LASTNAME_Firstname_TitleOfPaper.pdf

  • There is no limit on the number of submissions, but please do not submit the same paper for both the AP and CF streams - the program committee will decide which papers should be presented in the joint session.


There is limited funding available for presenters and discussants for travel and accommodation costs.

Program Committees:

Asset Pricing:

Co-chairs: Pedro Bordalo (Oxford SBS), Hugues Langlois (HEC Paris), Raman Uppal (EDHEC and CEPR) and Irina Zviadadze (HEC Paris and CEPR).

Members: Frederico Belo (INSEAD and CEPR), Harjoat Bhamra (Imperial College and CEPR), Svetlana Bryzgalova (LBS), Adrian Buss (INSEAD, Frankfurt School of Finance & Management, and CEPR), Laurent Calvet (EDHEC and CEPR), Christian Julliard (LSE), Marcin Kacperczyk (Imperial College and CEPR), Howard Kung (LBS and CEPR), and Dong Lou (LSE and CEPR).

Corporate Finance:

Co-chairs: Johan Hombert (HEC Paris and CEPR), and Martin Schmalz (Oxford SBS and CEPR).

Members: Claire Célérier (University of Toronto and CEPR), Claudia Custodio (Imperial College and CEPR), Olivier Dessaint (INSEAD and CEPR), Mariassunta Giannetti (SSE and CEPR), Xavier Giroud (Columbia and CEPR), Juanita Gonzalez-Uribe (LSE and CEPR), Dirk Jenter (LSE and CEPR), Peter Koudijs (Erasmus and CEPR), Augustin Landier (HEC Paris and CEPR), Steven Ongena (University of Zurich, SFI and CEPR), Marco Pagano (Federico II and CEPR), Jörg Rocholl (ESMT and CEPR), David Thesmar (MIT and CEPR), Victoria Vanasco (CREI and CEPR).

Local Committee:

Seung Joo Lee (Oxford SBS), Jiri Knesl (Oxford SBS), Mungo Wilson (Oxford SBS).

The Adam Smith Workshop is a regular event organized jointly by the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR), EDHEC Business School, HEC Paris, Imperial College Business School, INSEAD, London Business School, London School of Economics and Political Science, and Saïd Business School (University of Oxford).

Sponsoring institutions